Encore Encore

Fairport Convention

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
Folk, Rock
Special Offers
January 4, 2013

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


'Encore Encore' is a CD reissue of the original album 'Farewell Farewell', made during the band's so-called 'Farewell Tour of 1979'. The last venue on that defining tour was a certain field at Cropredy in Oxfordshire that proved to be the start of a brand new era, as well as the end of an old one - hence the title given to this CD.

Farewell, Farewell was a live Fairport Convention album recorded on the band's so-called farewell tour in 1979. It was the last Fairport album to feature fiddler and mandolinist Dave Swarbrick. The tracks are all drawn from three performances of the Farewell Tour during Spring 1979: at Birmingham University, Southampton University and finally at the Derby Assembly Rooms. Most of the songs are performances of already familiar tracks from previous studio albums.

In 1997 to mark the 30th anniversary of Fairport Convention, the album was remastered, repackaged and re-released as "Encore Encore", the version you see here. This version included the 1980 studio single "Rubber Band" plus three additional tracks recorded on the 1979 tour: "The Hens March Through the Midden/Four Poster Bed", "Flatback Caper" and "Dirty Linen"

The line-up comprised Simon Nicol and Dave Swarbrick, who shared the lead vocals and instrumental spotlight for this tour, with a rhythm section of Dave Pegg (occasional vocalist) and finally, Bruce Rowland.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number 6582902PMI
Barcode 5029365829021
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 96g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Matty Groves/High Road To Linton -
2. Orange Blossom Special -
3. John Lee -
4. Bridge Over The River Ash -
5. Sir Patrick Spens -
6. Mr. Lacey -
7. Walk Awhile -
8. The Bonny Black Hare -
9. The Journeyman's Grace -
10. Meet On The Ledge -
11. Rubber Band -
12. The Hen's March Through The Midden -
13. Flatback Caper -
14. Dirty Linen -