Topic Records - The Real Sound Of Folk Music

Topic Records - The Real Sound Of Folk Music

Various Artists

No of discs:
Stock Status
Delivery Estimate
Upon Release
Compact Disc

This title will be released on 20/10/2017

Price Promise: Order now, and if the price is reduced before dispatch you will pay the lowest price

CD £10.99

(Free delivery and returns within the UK.)

The prefect introduction to Topic Records the worlds oldest surviving independent record label, a 2 CD set featuring 28 specially selected tracks from the labels vast catalogue.

The story of Topic is synonymous with the growth of folk as a musical and social movement in Britain and these recordings demonstrate the bridge between modern music and a traditional art form.

On this 2 CD set you will find some of the most remarkable singers, songs and tunes ? either drawn directly from the tradition or inspired by it.

Tracks featured include John Tam's, Unity, Steve Ashley's ,Ships of Shame, Dick Gaughan's, Both Sides the Tweed and Ewan MacColl's, Dirty Old Town.

Many of the tracks deal with social issues of the time and there are also re-workings of great traditional story songs like - Anne Briggs' Blackwater Side, Mike Watersons' Tamlyn, Nic Jones' Canadee-i-o and the majestic performances by Martin Simpson, Shirley Collins, Davy Graham, Martin Carthy, Eliza Carthy and The Watersons.

Topic also offers up June Tabor and Oysterband cover version of Joy Divisions classic Love Will Tear Us Apart.

Pentangle, Andrew Cronshaw, Brass Monkey, Vin Garbutt, Johnny Handle, Bill Caddick, The Cheviot Ranters, Cilla Fisher and Artie Tresize, Silly Sisters, Tim Van Eyken, Peter Bellamy and Oak ? the list goes on ? a fulfilling and haunting introduction to the great legacy of the folk tradition and Topic Records

Catalogue number: TICD001
Barcode: 0714822000017
Number of items: 2
Packaging Type: Jewel Case
Imported: No
Weight: 91g
Dimensions (L × W × H): 140mm × 10mm × 125mm
Song Title Time
1 Both Sides The Tweed - Dick Gaughan 03:42
2 Canadee-i-o - Nic Jones 06:02
3 Angi - Davy Graham 02:30
4 The Sweet Primeroses - Shirley Collins 03:31
5 Never Any Good - Martin Simpson 05:28
6 Wasps In The Woodpile - Andrew Cronshaw 03:46
7 The Time Has Come - Pentangle 03:31
8 Blackwater Side - Anne Briggs 03:51
9 Scarborough Fair - Martin Carthy 03:28
10 Worcester City - Eliza Carthy 04:50
11 Dirty Old Town - Ewan MacColl 02:44
12 Pace Egging Song - The Watersons 01:27
13 Hedger And Ditcher - Silly Sisters 02:46
14 Unity (Raise Your Banners High) - John Tams 04:51
Song Title Time
1 Love Will Tear Us Apart - June Tabor & Oysterband 03:31
2 The Handweaver And The Factory Maid - Brass Monkey 04:17
3 Ships Of Shame - Steve Ashley 03:42
4 The Land Of Three Rivers - Vin Garbutt 02:51
5 Dust - Johnny Handle 02:53
6 11:01