THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Flyin' Home From Memphis

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Flyin' Home From Memphis
Flyin' Home From Memphis


Formed in late 2007 by vocalist Tom "Big Son" Eliff and guitarist Mitch "Da Switch" Dow, the Prophets set forth to lay down some of the most honest, straight-ahead blues that they could conjure up. Rather than taking the easy way out and simply retread the songbooks of their bygone heroes of yesteryear, Eliff and Dow crafted their self-titled national debut for Rip Cat Records in 2011. The results landed them a 2012 Blues Music Award nomination for Best New Artist Debut . The Mighty Mojo Prophets' second album 'Flyin' Home From Memphis' continues the tale with thirteen skillfully written and wonderfully performed songs. Together they've summoned a veritable bevy of musical variations beyond their adopted West Coast roots to incorporate other regional styles such as Chicago and Texas blues, Memphis soul, country blues and proto-rock 'n' roll. With solid rhythmic support from Dave Deforest on bass and Alex Schwartz on drums, along with special guests San Pedro Slim and Alex "Li'l A" Woodson on harmonica, Mike Malone on piano and organ, plus the B7 Horns consisting of Mark Sample on tenor sax and Jonny V on trumpet, this collection stands out as a refreshingly original take on traditional roots styles in a sea of 'the same ol' thing'.


  1. Name
  2. Sweetness
  3. The Gambler
  4. Lucky Man
  5. I Can't Believe
  6. The .45
  7. California
  8. Remeber Me
  9. One For Me
  10. Strong Medicine
  11. Jo's Jive
  12. She's Gone
  13. Street corner Preacher
  14. Whachulookinfor
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock