THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Not Far From Here

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Not Far From Here
Not Far From Here


Not Far From Here introduces award-winning pianist Julia Hulsmanns new group in which her long-time working trio with Marc Muellbauer and Heinrich Kobberling (together now for 17 years) is expanded to a quartet with the addition of Berlin-based saxophonist Uli Kempendorff.

In Kempendorffs playing both suppleness and unruliness are in ample supply, Jazzthetik has noted, and he brings a fresh energy to the Hülsmann group concept. Each member of the quartet brings in original compositions, with Julia herself contributing five pieces for the album. Repertoire is augmented by a timely cover of This Is Not America, David Bowies 1980s hit single (co-composed by Bowie, Pat Metheny and Lyle Mays), which appears here in a quartet version and a solo piano variation.

The album, recorded at Studios La Buissonne in the South of France in March 2019, is issued as the Hulsmann Quartet embarks on an extensive European tour. Dates include ECM50 events at the London Jazz Festival and Le Flagey, Brussels.

Personnel: Uli Kempendorff (tenor saxophone), Julia Hulsmann (piano), Marc Muellbauer (double bass), Heinrich Kobberling (drums)


  1. Name
  2. The Art Of Failing
  3. Le Mistral
  4. This Is Not America
  5. Weit Weg
  6. Streiflicht
  7. Not Far From Here
  8. No Game
  9. Einschub
  10. If I Had A Heart
  11. Colibri 65
  12. You Dont Have To Win Me Over
  13. Wrong Song
  14. This Is Not America (var.)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock