THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Arctic Riff

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Arctic Riff
Arctic Riff


The first-time teaming of Poland's dynamic Marcin Wasilewski Trio and big-toned US tenorist Joe Lovano brings forth special music of concentrated, deep feeling, in which lyricism and strength seem ideally balanced.

The alliance plays four new tunes by Marcin and one by Joe, as well as Carla Bley's classic "Vashkar" (in two variations), plus collective improvisations with strong input from all four players; Slawomir Kurkiewicz's bass skills are particularly well-deployed in the spontaneous piece "Arco". Joe will be joining the Polish trio for a number of selected concerts in the autumn.

Arctic Riff was recorded at France's Studio La Buissonne in August 2019, and produced by Manfred Eicher.

Personnel: Joe Lovano: tenor saxophone; Marcin Wasilewski: piano; Slawomir Kurkiewicz: double bass; Michal Miskiewicz: drums


  1. Name
  2. Glimmer Of Hope
  3. Vashkar
  4. Cadenza
  5. Fading Sorrow
  6. Arco
  7. Stray Cat Walk
  8. Lamour Fou
  9. A Glimpse
  10. Vashkar (var.)
  11. On The Other Side
  12. Old Hat
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock