THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Final Call

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Final Call
Final Call


With this new 2003 recording (12 tunes/56 min.), Ole "Fessor" Lindgreen is disbanding his Big City Band after a 35-year European success story. Never content with the limitations of traditional jazz, Fessor once again makes wonderful music on this CD in his explorations of musical styles including old blues, bebop, Caribbean, Afro-Cuban and modern New Orleans rhythm & blues. Basically a "modern" traditional jazz band, the music on this CD includes a classic modern jazz composition by Charles Mingus, a basic Leadbelly blues, a sweet love song by Ivory Joe Hunter, some modern New Orleans R&B tunes and six Fessor originals. The band is made up of top Danish professionals, including both new and old Big City Band members, plus three guest artists. Violinist Kristian Jørgensen, clarinetist "Nulle " Nykjær and organist Kjeld Lauritsen are the guest soloists on the CD, making the exciting Big City Band's music even more of a pleasure to hear. The tunes average 5-6 minutes in length, giving the soloists plenty of time to really get in the groove. This is the most untraditional trad jazz you're ever going to hear a fitting finale for Ole Lindgreen's Big City Band.


  1. Name
  2. The Boys On The Western Plains
  3. My Jelly Roll Soul
  4. Elith's Farm
  5. Lonesome Road
  6. Velkommen I Den Gronne Lund
  7. A Good Year For The Blues
  8. One Naughty Flat
  9. Ferdinand
  10. Barybone Stomp
  11. I Almost Lost My Mind
  12. Jammin' With Soloff
  13. Final Call
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock