THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

At the Hollywood Empire: Original 1949 Transcript

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
At the Hollywood Empire: Original 1949 Transcript
At the Hollywood Empire: Original 1949 Transcript


This is the first-time release of live radio broadcasts with the Duke Ellington Orchestra from the Hollywood Empire club in Los Angeles in 1949. This 71-minute/17-tune CD was recorded during a transitional period in Ellington's career, when the swing big bands were dying out and bebop was on the rise, and several of the tunes reflect the new bebop trend. Almost half of the compositions performed on this CD were never again performed by Duke Ellington. On this CD the Ellington Orchestra features Billy Strayhorn, Al Hibbler, Ben Webster, Ray Nance, Harry Carney and Johnny Hodges. As is usually the case with Duke Ellington, this CD deserves repeated listening in order to solve the "mystery" of Ellington's wonderful, complex musical ideas.


  1. Name
  2. Solid Old Man
  3. Singin' In The Rain
  4. Three Cent Stomp
  5. Tulip Or Turnip
  6. Take The 'A' Train
  7. Hy' A Sue
  8. 'C' Jam Blues
  9. Passion Flower
  10. Clementine
  11. Just A-Sittin' And A-Rockin'
  12. One O'Clock Jump
  13. Unbooted Character
  14. Paradise
  15. How You Sound
  16. It's Monday Every Day
  17. Caravan
  18. Cotton Tail
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock