THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Complete Live At The Village Gate 1962

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Box Set
Catalog Number:
117022 117022 117022


Limited edition 6CD set - more than 5 hours of music.

The 1962 live engagement at the Village Gate marked Sonny Rollins' first recording ever with Don Cherry, as well as one of the earliest made by the saxophonist following his three-year long self-imposed musical exile. It was all recorded in a piano-less quartet format with Bob Cranshaw on bass, and Billy Higgins on drums.

While only three tunes from the gig ("Dearly Beloved" in a highly edited form) were included on the famous LP Our Man in Paris (RCA Victor LPM 2612), this 6-CD collection adds all existing music taped during those live sessions, totalling more than three hours of previously unreleased material in brilliant stereo sound.

Among the many highlights here are the unedited "Dearly Beloved" (which is 10 minutes longer than the LP version), the issued "Oleo" with an extra minute at the beginning, Rollins' only known reading of "Alexander's Ragtime Band", and "Home Sweet Home", plus extended renditions of songs he only rarely recorded, such as "Solitude" and "Love Walked In".


  1. Name
  2. Oleo #1 [complete Unedited Version]
  3. Untitled Original A #1
  4. Doxy #1 /Love Walked In
  5. Dearly Beloved
  6. Doxy #2
  7. Solitude
  8. Oleo #2
  9. St. Thomas
  10. Home Sweet Home #1
  11. Lover
  12. Unidentified Ballad/Alexander's Ragtime Band /Home Sweet Home #2
  13. Dearly Beloved
  14. Oleo #3
  15. Untitled Original B
  16. Tempus Fugit
  17. Untitled Original A #2
  18. Untitled Original C
  19. Untitled Original D
  20. Untitled Original E Into Untitled Original A #3
  21. Oleo #4
  22. Three Little Words

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite