THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

The Curse (incl. Nightmares EP)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
The Curse (incl. Nightmares EP)
The Curse (incl. Nightmares EP)


The final album recorded by Omen's classic lineup, The Curse found the Los Angeles group in a state of transition, relinquishing many of their original New Wave of British Heavy Metal-inspired trademarks in a somewhat forced attempt to play catch-up to the by-then dominant thrash metal movement. The ploy didn't work, however, and, even when they could still count on solid songwriting instincts and top-notch musicianship to carry them through, speed metal wannabes like the opening title cut, "S.R.B.," and "At All Cost," were quite simply no match for the innately thrashing likes of Metallica, Slayer, et. al. On the other hand, when Omen remembered their roots, their abilities for fashioning multi-paced and melodic heavy metal, bordering on the yet-to-be-conceived subgenre of power metal, were still as good as it got within the 50 states. The Curse offers two formidable examples of this talent: the near epic "Teeth of the Hydra" -- a veritable tour de force for guitarist extraordinaire Kenny Powell; and the fan favorite "Holy Martyr" -- featuring an unforgettable chorus and introduced by what is almost surely Omen's most recognizable riff ever. It could be argued that this pair alone more than justifies The Curse's enduring position as a minor cult favorite among '80s metal collectors, but rarely as lofty as that held by its two predecessors.


  1. Name
  2. The Curse
  3. Kill On Sight
  4. Holy Martyr
  5. Eye of the Storm
  6. S.R.B.
  7. Teeth of the Hydra
  8. At All Cost
  9. Destiny
  10. Bounty Hunter
  11. The Larch
  12. Nightmares
  13. Shock Treatment
  14. Dragon's Breath
  15. Termination
  16. Bounty Hunter
  17. Whole Lottta Rosie (Live)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite