THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Forbidden Fruit + Bonus Album: Sings Ellington

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:


This CD reissue of Nina Simone's 'Forbidden Fruit' includes a bonus album, 'Nina Simone sings Ellington' plus 2 bonus tracks. On the 1960/1 recording Nina sings and plays piano, accompanied by Al Shackman, guitar Chris White, bass and Bobby Hamilton, drums. The bonus album was recorded in 1961 with an orchestra conducted and arranged by Ralph Burns. The two bonus tracks are from 1957 with Jimmy Bond on bass and Albert "Tootie" Heath on drums. The 20-page booklet contains complete information with specially prepared liner notes by Penguin Guide to Jazz's writer Brian Morton and by France's prestigious Jazz Magazine. "With Forbidden Fruit, Simone became one of the defining voices of the 1960s." Penguin Guide to Jazz


  1. Name
  2. Rags And Old Iron
  3. No Good Man
  4. Gin House Blues
  5. I'll Look Around
  6. I Love To Love
  7. Work Song
  8. Where Can I Go Without You
  9. Just Say I Love Him
  10. Memphis In June
  11. Forbidden Fruit
  12. Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me (Bonus Album)
  13. I Got It Bad (Bonus Album)
  14. Hey, Buddy Bolden (Bonus Album)
  15. Merry Mending (Bonus Album)
  16. Something To Live For (Bonus Album)
  17. You Better Know It (Bonus Album)
  18. I Like Sunrise (Bonus Album)
  19. Solitude (Bonus Album)
  20. The Gal From Joe's (Bonus Album)
  21. Sarin Doll (Bonus Album)
  22. It Don't Mean A Thing (Bonus Album)
  23. Love Me Or Leave Me (Bonus Track)
  24. My Baby Just Cares For Me (Bonus Track)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock