THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

New Release

Birth Of The Cool + 9 Bonus Tracks

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Birth Of The Cool + 9 Bonus Tracks
Birth Of The Cool + 9 Bonus Tracks


Deluxe digipak with 20-page booklet and additional line notes by Penguin Guide to Jazz's writer Brian Morton.

"So dubbed because these three sessions are where the sound known as cool jazz essentially formed, Birth of the Cool remains one of the defining, pivotal moments in jazz. This music is so inventive, it remains alluring even after its influence has been thoroughly absorbed into the mainstream" (Stephen Thomas Erlewine)

"What remains is one of the great records of modern jazz, music from a wide range of voices, marked by subtle polyphony, paired instrumental voices, a deliberate restraint of a kind not often encountered in jazz, which prizes energy. In fact, a shared masterpiece that has enjoyed a greater than usual mix of reactions. Like all iconic records, it needs to be heard, not talked about...The enchanted chemistry of these late 1940's sessions has lost none of its unalterable magic." - PENGUINE GUIDE TO JAZZ


  1. Name
  2. Jeru
  3. Move
  4. Godchild
  5. Budo [hallucinations]
  6. Venus De Milo
  7. Rouge
  8. Boplicity
  9. Israel
  10. Deception
  11. Rocker
  12. Moondreams
  13. Darn That Dream
  14. Early Spring
  15. Local 802 Blues
  16. Odjenar
  17. Ezz-Thetic
  18. Hi Beck
  19. Yesterdays [tk 1]
  20. Out Of The Blue
  21. Conception
  22. Three Little Feelings
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock