THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Lady Sings The Blues + Stay With Me

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Lady Sings The Blues + Stay With Me
Lady Sings The Blues + Stay With Me


20th Century Masterworks. BILLIE HOLIDAY / LADY SINGS THE BLUES + 1 bonus album 'Stay With Me'. Two albums on one disc, Deluxe digipak with 20-page booklet and additional line notes by Penguin Guide to Jazz's writer Brian Morton. BILLIE HOLIDAY, vocals, plus: Charlie Shavers, Harry "Sweets" Edison (tp), Tony Scott (cl), Willie Smith (as), Paul Quinichette (ts), Wynton Kelly (p), among others. New York & Los Angeles, 1954-56. Billie Holiday is an important artist in the time of Black Lives Matter. Her voice and her songs are a permanent reminder that the second act of American life doesn't just have to balance the first; it has to redress it, too. And that is more than a comeback." PENGUIN GUIDE TO JAZZ "And while she was poignant in her interpretation of the dark 'Strange Fruit', she was perhaps even more moving when singing about the setbacks of love and everyday life, because that's when she allowed us to take a glimpse into her own tragic life." JAZZ MAGAZINE "Lady Sings the Blues comes through as a characteristic, satisfyingly troubling, indelible Billie monologue. No other singer now in jazz gets so fully into the bloodstream as Billie still does." Net Hentoff


  1. Name
  2. Travlin Light
  3. I Must Have That Man!
  4. Some Other Spring
  5. Lady Sings The Blues
  6. Strange Fruit
  7. God Bless The Child
  8. Good Morning, Heartache
  9. No Good Man
  10. Love Me Or Leave Me
  11. Too Marvelous For Words
  12. Willow Weep For Me
  13. I Thought About You
  14. Stormy Blues
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock