THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Nightmare Of Being

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
The Nightmare Of Being
The Nightmare Of Being


Undisputed masters of Swedish death metal, At The Gates have always been a fearless force for creative thinking. Formed in Gothenburg in 1990, the band's highly influential take on the burgeoning extreme metal formula swiftly thrust them to the forefront of the underground. Over the years that followed, they demonstrated an intensity and artistic hunger that few of their contemporaries could match. Their first two albums - The Red In The Sky Is Ours (1992) and With Fear I Kiss The Burning Darkness (1993) - eschewed the straightforward, melodic approach of their home-town peers in favour of a dark and progressive strain of full-bore brutality, with artful atmospherics and an underlying sense of otherworldly unease. After sharpening up both their sound and their songwriting for 1994's Terminal Spirit Disease, At The Gates delivered the mother of all melo-death masterpieces in 1995. Slaughter Of The Soul remains a revered benchmark for both its creators and the metal scene in general, despite the premature dissolution of the band up shortly after its release. During the years that followed, At The Gates' reputation grew and their influence on a generation of metal bands became abundantly apparent. A second chapter began in earnest in 2008, with a series of acclaimed reunion shows, before At The Gates made a full-scale comeback to action with fourth album At War With Reality in 2014: a sophisticated and intricate return to top form that also introduced numerous new weapons into the Swedes' armoury. Faster and nastier than its predecessor, 2018's To Drink From The Night Itself provided further proof that the band's 21st century incarnation was easily outstripping the musical achievements of the early years, and subsequent live shows were as intense and celebratory as any they have experienced. Fast forward to 2021, and At The Gates are poised to release what can only be described as the finest album of their careers to date. A concept album that explores the dark revelations contained in pessimist philosophy, Th


  1. Name
  2. Spectre of Extinction
  3. The Fall into Time
  4. The Paradox
  5. Cult of Salvation
  6. The Nightmare of Being
  7. The Abstract Enthroned
  8. Garden of Cyrus
  9. Cosmic Pessimism
  10. Touched by the White Hands of Death
  11. Eternal Winter of Reason

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock