THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets


Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:


22a proudly present's the 4th studio album from the Tenderlonious led jazz quartet - Ruby Rushton. 'Ironside' is Ruby Rushton's most complete work to date and was recorded over a 2 day session at the legendary Abbey Road Studios. Includes alternate takes of "Lara's Theme" and "Where Are You Now?" Exclusive to the CD!

'Ironside' sees the band continuing to push boundaries, and lead the way, with this new genre defying recording. The quartet's fresh, high energy sound is rooted in the spiritual concepts of John Coltrane and Yusef Lateef, paying homage to The Headhunters and Weather Report heyday, whilst still adopting influences from hip hop, Afrobeat and the UK underground culture.

"Ironside" - meaning someone who is "courageous and possessing great physical and mental strength" sums up the Ruby Ruston journey so far. A personal, against the odds journey, that required Tenderlonious starting a label, 22a, back in 2013. Nobody much cared about jazz back in 2011 when the first Ruby Ruston album ('Two For Joy') was recorded, so the 22a platform was built, a home for friends and members of the family to release music from. Fast forward to 2019 and the jazz landscape is looking a whole lot healthier.

The album's title track embodies its meaning more than any other track on the album. A highly technical, jazzy jungle mover, held down by Tim Carnegie's drums and Tenderlonious' expeditious flute solo.

"The Return Of The Hero" nods most explicitly to the ever-present flute hero Yusef Lateef, the prancing dance of "Eleven Grapes" builds a locked groove perpetually upwards in spirals of dizzying frency, whilst "Triceratops The Caller" evokes alternating contributions from 4 Hero's sampled breaks, J-Dilla's loping beats and Lonnie Liston Smith's cosmic keys, all of which coalesce in a perfect, joyous blend.

The solemn beauty of "Prayer for Greenfell" is a respectful and dignified memorial, befitting of the magnitude of many lives stolen and "Pingwin VI" is dedicated to another hero of Tenderlonious - the Polish jazz legend Kristof Komeda.

Personnel: Ed "Tenderlonious" Cawthorne (flute, soprano saxophone, synth, percussion), Nick Walters (trumpet and percussion), Aidan Shepherd (keys and synths), Tim Carnegie (drums)


"The record captures the outfit's vivacious, full-throttled and courageous approach. A frenzied concoction of shimmering horns, jangling keys, shuffling percussion, spun-out grooves and highly expressive sax and flute collide to create a heady, intoxicating atmosphere. (8/10)" - Future Music

"Ruby Rushton are giving UK jazz a shot of adrenalin as much as a transfusion of fresh blood...there's a real energy in the spiralling flutes, horns and rhythms of their fourth album. (8/10)" - DJ Mag

"This crisply produced fourth album is the quartet's tightest yet, featuring detailed arrangements and short-length tracks that beg repeated listening." - **** Evening Standard

"With Ironside Ruby Rushton have made a beautiful jazz record displaying great musicianship and a high level of sophistication." - Echoes

"Ruby Rushton dedicate themselves once again to recreating 1970s jazz funk as viewed through the grimy windows of 21st century London...It's music that knows where it comes from and understands exactly what time it is." - The Wire

"You can hear Yusuf Lateef and Weather Report, Bitches Brew and Herbie Hancock, as well as hints of John Barry and Henry Mancini, all with the crispest, most modernist, most soundsystem-friendly production." - The Arts Desk


  1. Name
  2. One Mo' Dram
  3. Where Are You Now
  4. The Target
  5. Return Of The Hero
  6. Eleven Grapes
  7. Lara's Theme
  8. Prayer For Grenfell
  9. Ironside
  10. Triceratops The Caller
  11. Pingwin Vi (Requiem For Komeda)
  12. Lara's Theme (Alternate Take)
  13. Where Are You Now? (Alternate Take)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock