THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Plays Cole Porter + 6 Bonus Tracks!

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Plays Cole Porter + 6 Bonus Tracks!
Plays Cole Porter + 6 Bonus Tracks!


Collector's limited edition. Deluxe 6-sided Digipak presentation with comprehensive booklet. Contained here is the complete LP Charlie Parker Plays Cole Porter (Verve MGV8007). Intended as a homage to composer Cole Porter, who penned all of the tunes featured here, the album marks one of Norman Granz's first attempts to present a songbook, preceding the celebrated LPs he would make with Ella Fitzgerald. Bird never saw the final product, as he died on March 12, 1955, before the LP's release date. In fact, the album's second session would also be his very last, either live or at a recording studio. Six bonus tracks have also been included here, consisting of additional studio versions of Porter songs by Bird. All compositions by COLE PORTER All original recordings produced by NORMAN GRANZ Charlie parker, alto sax on all tracks, plus: Tracks 1-5: Walter Bishop, Jr. (p), Jerome Darr (g), Teddy Kotick (b), Roy Haynes (d). New York, March 31, 1954. Tracks 6-10: Walter Bishop, Jr. (p), Billy Bauer (g), Teddy Kotick (b), Art Taylor (d). New York, December 10, 1954. On the 6 bonus tracks, Charlie Parker is accompanied by various formations. Download the complete Bird's Nest catalogues: (CD) (LP)


  1. Name
  2. I Get a Kick Out of You
  3. I Get a Kick Out of You [alt tk]
  4. Just One of Those Things
  5. My Heart Belongs to Daddy
  6. I've Got You Under My Skin
  7. Love for Sale
  8. Love for Sale [alt tk]
  9. I Love Paris
  10. I Love Paris [alt tk]
  11. Love for Sale [alt tk #2]
  12. Easy to Love
  13. Begin the Beguine
  14. Night and Day
  15. What Is This Thing Called Love?
  16. In the Still of the Night
  17. What Is This Thing Called Love? [Jam Session]
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite