THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Dark Eyes

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Dark Eyes
Dark Eyes


Tomasz Stanko's smouldering Slavic soul music and grainy-toned trumpet finds a new context on 'Dark Eyes'. Like his hero Miles Davis, the Polish jazz master also has an impressive record as talent scout and mentor, and his latest ensemble pools young players from Finland and Denmark - his 'Nordic' quintet - for what is an exciting and notable album.

Tomasz has had strong connections to Finland in particular since the early 1970s when he was part of Edward Vesala's creative circle. Now he welcomes two prodigiously gifted Finns into his group, pianist Alexi Tuomarila and drummer Olavi Louhivuori, both expressive and imaginative players. On 'Dark Eyes', Jakob Bro, the young guitarist heard on ECM on Paul Motian's 'Garden of Eden' is cast most often in the role of subtle colourist, while fellow Dane Anders Christensen, on electric bass throughout, provides the band's throbbing pulse.

The programme features new Stanko compositions, including "The Dark Eyes of Martha Hirsch", inspired by an Oskar Kokoschka canvas, plus a new version of "Last Song" from Tomasz ECM debut "Balladyna", as well as "Dirge for Europe" and "Etiuda baletowa nr. 3" - from the pen of Krzysztof Komeda.

When Tomasz Stanko won the European Jazz Prize in 2002, the jury declared him: "A world-class player, a stylist, a charismatic performer and original composer - a true master and leader of European jazz... (with) a unique sound and personal music that is instantly recognizable and unmistakably his own." His association with ECM goes back to 1975 but his three albums with his young Polish trio, 'Soul of Things', 'Suspended Night' and 'Lontano' hit a new level of international popularity.

Personnel: Tomasz Stanko (trumpet), Alexi Tuomarila (piano), Jakob Bro (guitar), Anders Christensen (bass), Olavi Louhivuori (drums)


  1. Name
  2. So Nice
  3. Terminal 7
  4. The Dark Eyes Of Martha Hirsch
  5. Grand Central
  6. Amsterdam Avenue
  7. Samba Nova
  8. Dirge For Europe
  9. May Sun
  10. Last Song
  11. Etiuda Baletowa No. 3
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide