THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

All Our Reasons

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
All Our Reasons
All Our Reasons


First ECM recording of a quartet formed in 2003. Originally billed as the Ethan Iverson-Mark Turner Quartet, it soon became the Billy Hart Quartet, and under this name has played shows to packed houses each year in New York City. The group's first album for hard-bop label High Note in 2005 figured on many critics' best-of-the year list. Since then, the ensemble's music has become more free and spacious, a sensibility that aligns perfectly with ECM.

Billy Hart, of course, is no stranger to ECM, first recording for the label in 1974 - his swinging beat and delicate cymbal tracery were heard with Bennie Maupin on the classic Jewel In The Lotus, and for ten years he was a member of the Charles Lloyd Quartet, playing on Lloyd's The Call, All My Relations, Canto and Lift Every Voice - influential albums all. Tenor saxophonist Mark Turner guested with Enrico Rava on New York Days in 2008, also recording with the Fly Trio the acclaimed album Sky And Country. Bad Plus pianist Ethan Iverson and bassist Ben Street make their first ECM appearances with All Our Reasons.

Hart, Iverson and Turner are all featured as composers. Material includes modern blues; a Coltrane tribute, 'Ohnedaruth' (the spiritual name adopted by Trane) which re-works 'Giant Steps'; and an Iverson-penned homage to Paul Bley, the wonderfully-titled 'Nostalgia for the Impossible'. The gently loping Hart tune 'Duchess' was previously recorded on his 'Oshumare' album while Turner's 'Nigeria' takes off from 'Airegin', Sonny Rollins's much-covered composition (which was inspired originally by Nigerian dancers).

Drummer Billy Hart's rich history includes stints with Wes Montgomery, Jimmy Smith, Herbie Hancock, McCoy Tyner and many others. A vast discography incorporates sessions with Miles Davis for 'On The Corner' and 'Big Fun'.

Personnel: Mark Turner (saxophone), Ethan Iverson (piano), Ben Street (double-bass), Billy Hart (drums)


  1. Name
  2. Song for Balkis
  3. Ohnedaruth
  4. Tolis Dance
  5. Nostalgia for the Impossible
  6. Nigeria
  7. Duchess
  8. Wasteland
  9. Old Wood
  10. Imkes March
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock