THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Solo Guitarra

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Solo Guitarra
Solo Guitarra


"As the title says, there is nothing but guitar", the Catalan José Luis Montón (born in Barcelona in 1962) remarks in a brief and self-effacing liner note. Just an acoustic guitar, and an astonishing guitarist. Over the years at ECM it has often been the case that one record production has opened a door into another, and when producer Manfred Eicher heard José Luis Montón's creative and sensitive playing at the session for singer Amina Alaoui's Pan-Iberian 'Arco Iris' project, he determined that a Montón solo project would be highly appropriate for the label. Thus this extraordinary disc, recorded in Lugano in April 2011.

It's a major artistic statement. With its programme of Montón compositions drawing upon the melodic subtleties, rhythmic vitality and emotional power of flamenco, making connections also to classical tradition, it can at once take its place alongside the label's finest solo guitar albums.

"Flamenco is very beautiful in itself and I am deeply grateful for the inspiration it has given me throughout my career and my personal struggle to find myself through music," he says. "I owe a special debt of gratitude to all the great masters of flamenco guitar that have enriched so much its language, introducing new characters in the alphabet of flamenco." The flow of ideas in Montón's pieces can be breathtaking, as melodic lines splinter into flurries of notes or dance elegantly through stacked rhythms, virtuosity always harnessed to thoroughly musical ends. The music also draws from other resources including classical music, Baroque music being specifically acknowledged with the JS Bach-inspired 'Air', which references the Air from Bach's Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D Major, BWV 1068.

Personnel: José Luis Montón (guitar)


  1. Name
  2. Rota
  3. Española
  4. Son & Kete
  5. Air (based on j.s. bach's "Air")
  6. Altolaguirre
  7. Con permiso
  8. Al oido
  9. Conclusión
  10. Detallitos
  11. Hontanar
  12. Tarareando
  13. Piel suave
  14. Te he de querer mientras viva
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock