THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Slow Burn

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Slow Burn
Slow Burn


An album steeped in the blues and a direct follow up to vocalist Zoe Schwarz and guitarist Rob Koral's critically acclaimed 2009 album 'Celebration'.

The band for 'Slow Burn' has been made into a trio with Zoe Schwarz and Rob Koral joined by the sensational tenor saxophonist Ian Ellis. Zoe Schwarz and Rob Koral's groups have toured extensively throughout the UK and Europe attracting large audiences and critical acclaim. They are one of the UK's busiest act - regularly featuring in both jazz and blues venues. "The intention of Slow Burn was always to include our very good friend and colleague, the amazing tenor saxophone of Ian Ellis, whose musicianship is second to none. The sound of the tenor was the obvious choice as an additional voice to make up the trio; the end result is Slow Burn."

Personnel: Zoe Schwarz (vocals), Rob Koral (guitars), Ian Ellis (tenor saxophone), Paul Robinson (percussion - track 9)

"There's a perfect logic to this classic combination yet it's oddly rare in the jazz world, which helps to explain why this popular duo has a busy gig diary. The fact that they're pretty damn good at what they do doesn't hurt, either." - Roger Thomas, Jazz UK, Nov 2010

"Schwarz takes all that is good from Janis Joplin and Billie Holiday and makes it uniquely her own." - C. Michael Bailey, AllAboutJazz, Apr 2012


  1. Name
  2. The Meaning of the Blues
  3. The Blues Are a Brewin'
  4. Was It Something You Said
  5. Baby I Don't Cry Over You
  6. Angel Eyes
  7. Bye Bye Baby See You When I Get Home
  8. I Cover the Water Front
  9. I Can Dream
  10. We're Going Wrong
  11. Detour Ahead
  12. Blues for Mama
  13. Stay Away
  14. Willow Weep for Me
  15. Sinner's Prayer
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock