THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe


Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:


Vijay Iyer presents a powerful new trio, in which he is joined by two key figures in creative music, Tyshawn Sorey and Linda May Han Oh. "We have an energy together that is very distinct. It has a different kind of propulsion, a different impulse and a different spectrum of colours".

Repertoire on 'Uneasy', recorded at Oktaven Audio Studio in Mount Vernon, New York in December 2019, includes Iyer originals written over a span of 20 years, plus Gerri Allen's "Drummer's Song" and a radical recasting of Cole Porter's "Night and Day."

Vijay Iyer: piano
Linda May Han Oh: double bass
Tyshawn Sorey: drums


"These 10 Uneasy pieces span 20 years of Iyer's career, save for a breezily ingenious interpretation of Cole Porter's Night and Day, and a scintillating Sorey-embellished take on pianist Geri Allen's whimsically punchy Drummer Song. The relentlessly pumping Combat Breathing reflects the trio's collective chemistry as well as Iyer's commitment to social and political themes." - **** The Guardian

"The second cover, "Drummer's Song", written by the late Geri Allen, showcases the trio's strength and fluency. Drummer Tyshawn Sorey, a longtime collaborator, equals Iyer for power, thrust and mastery of compound time. His sizzling press rolls and offbeat rimshots are matched by the firm lines and imaginative spark of Linda May Han Oh's double bass to produce a powerful trio of equal partners." - **** Financial Times

"These grade-A players cohere impressively on what is a session that pushes the vocabulary of previous releases such as 'Historicity' and 'Break Stuff' further down a personal evolutionary road...Iyer continues to document the contemporary American experience, with its catalogue of inconvenient truths and dehumanizing facts, with music that deftly sidesteps convention while staying true to all manner of far-reaching traditions in Black music." - **** (Editor's Choice) Jazzwise

"If the theme of the album is uncertainty then, ironically, that restlessness has inspired a hugely confident-sounding trio. A candidate for the best of 2021 lists? I should think so." - LondonJazzNews

".. .astonishing creativity. One of the records of the year, no doubt." - The Blue Moment


  1. Name
  2. Children Of Flint
  3. Combat Breathing
  4. Night And Day
  5. Touba
  6. Drummer's Song
  7. Augury
  8. Configurations
  9. Uneasy
  10. Retrofit
  11. Entrustment
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite