THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets


Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:


The celebrated Polish trumpeter Tomasz Stanko returns with a new band comprising David Virelles (piano), Thomas Morgan (double bass) and Gerald Cleaver (drums) - his New York Quartet - and an album paying homage to the Polish poet, essayist and Nobel Laureate, Wislawa Symborska.

Like his early hero Miles Davis, Stanko has a gift for shaping great bands, and this one, formed in the world's jazz capital, overflows with promise. The bass and drums team of Morgan and Cleaver is one of the most sensitive in contemporary improvising, and Cuban-born David Virelles, inspired by ritual music as well as by Thelonious Monk and Andrew Hill, seems particularly well-attuned to the brooding darkness and sophisticated dread of Stanko's free ballads. In the up-tempo pieces all four players seem to enter new territory, with very exciting results.

The 2-CD programme of new Stanko compositions is inspired by the poetry of Wislawa Symborska, who died in 2012. As Stanko writes in the CD booklet, "Reading Wislawa Szymborska's words gave me many ideas and insights. Meeting her and interacting with her poetry also gave impetus to this music, which I would like to dedicate, respectfully, to her memory."

Wislawa was recorded in New York - where Stanko now lives for part of each year - at the Avatar Studios in June, 2012. It is his first ECM album since Dark Eyes in 2009.

Personnel: Tomasz Stanko (trumpet), David Virelles (piano), Thomas Morgan (double bass), Gerald Cleaver (drums)


  1. Name
  2. Wislawa
  3. Assassins
  4. Metafizyka
  5. Dernier Cri
  6. Mikrokosmos
  7. Song For H
  8. Oni
  9. April Story
  10. Tutaj - Here
  11. Faces
  12. A Shaggy Vandal
  13. Wislawa, var.
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock