THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

In Full View

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
In Full View
In Full View


After two acclaimed trio albums (The End of a Summer and Imprint), pianist Julia Hülsmann proposes a different project for her third ECM release In Full View, motivated initially by a performance by Berlin-based, English trumpet and flugelhorn player Tom Arthurs: "I found the music so beautiful that I asked him on the spot to collaborate..."

Arthurs, who has worked with musicians including John Surman, John Taylor, Iain Ballamy, Thomas Strønen, Jack DeJohnette and Kenny Wheeler, and cites influences ranging from György Ligeti to filmmakers Andrei Tarkovsky and Jean-Luc Godard, gladly accepted. After first rehearsals had established musical compatibility, Hülsmann called upon the services of her trusted rhythm section of Marc Muellbauer (double-bass) and Heinrich Köbberling (drums). Thus the Julia Hülmann Trio became the Julia Hülsmann Quartet - with a prominent role for Tom Arthurs as a strong new frontline voice that not only inspires Julia Hülsmann as player and arranger, but also had a stimulating effect on the composing activities within the quartet, with all members bringing compositions to the table.

The programme is rounded off by the additions of "The Water" from Canadian singer-songwriter Feist ("I like these simple, clear melodies, with a totally unique charm" says Hülsmann), "Richtung Osten", penned by Heinrich Köbberling's wife Fumi Udo, and Manuel de Falla's "Nana" from the Siete Canciones Populares Españolas cycle of folk song arrangements.

"German pianist Julia Hülsmann gave - for my taste - the best performance of her already enormously varied career. In trumpet player Tom Arthurs she has found a wonderful counterpart for her poetic ingenuity." - Ulrich Olshausen, reviewing the Julia Hülsmann Quartet at the Münster Festival

Personnel: Julia Hülsmann (piano), Tom Arthurs (trumpet), Marc Muellbauer (double bass), Heinrich Köbberling (drums)


  1. Name
  2. Quicksilver
  3. Dunkel
  4. Gleim
  5. Forever Old
  6. Spiel
  7. Richtung Osten
  8. Sealion
  9. Forgotten Poetry
  10. Dedication
  11. Snow, melting
  12. Meander
  13. In Full View
  14. Nana
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock