THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Abu Nawas Rhapsody

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Abu Nawas Rhapsody
Abu Nawas Rhapsody


Acclaimed for his fusion of world music with jazz, vocalist and oud player Dhafer Youssef focuses more on the acoustic side of jazz with an exciting quartet that includes pianist Tigran Hamasyan, bassist Chris Jennings and drummer Mark Guiliana.

This recording contrasts the sense of calm and serenity created by Dhafer's mesmeric voice and oud playing with Guiliana's trademark combination of energetic rhythmic multiple layers. The very special mix of musical elements and creative talent produces a new and original soundscape. With the musicians' commitment to exploring and experimenting paired with their subtlety and courage to be silent, it is sure to catch the ear of any attentive listener.

Born in Tunisia, Youssef has been living in Europe since the 1990s working with an eclectic mix of musicians including Nguyên Lé, Markus Stockhausen, Renaud Garcia-Fons, Wolfgang Muthspiel, Nils-Paetter Molvaer and Eivind Aarset. His recent recordings, 'Divine Shadows' (2006), with musicians from the Norwegian nu-jazz scene and 'Glow', a collaboration with Wolfgang Muthspiel, have been acclaimed by the critics and his live performances in the UK have attracted large audiences.

Personnel: Dhafer Youssef (vocals, oud), Tigran Hamasyan (piano), Chris Jennings (bass), Mark Guiliana (drums)


  1. Name
  2. Sacré The Wine Ode Suite
  3. Les Ondes Orientales
  4. Khamsa The Khamriyyat of Abu Nawas
  5. Interl'Oud
  6. Odd Elegy
  7. Ya Hobb In the Name of Love
  8. Shaouk
  9. Shatha
  10. Mudamatan The Wine Ode Suite
  11. Hayastan Dance
  12. Sura
  13. Profane The Wine Ode Suite
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock