THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets


Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:


Producer's Note: "It's interesting to note that this recording captures the very first time this group played together. While Joe Ascione and Frank Vignola have played together throughout most of their musical lives, neither of them had ever played with Joey DeFrancesco before this date. Therefore it's particularly interesting that most of the songs on the record are the first takes, without any rehearsal whatsoever.

I think the reasons for this record's musical success are threefold: First of all, these guys can play! Each of them has a deep understanding of the jazz tradition coupled with an incredible facility on their respective instrument. Second, is that they were each raised in an Italian-American family, and therefore share a common heritage and perspective with respect to Italian-American music and culture. And third, they're all big fans of the great "mafia" motion pictures made by Robert De Niro, Al Pacino, Joe Pesci, Marlon Brando, and many other talented actors, writers, and directors. It is greatly due to the later two reasons that this record was made amongst two days of continuous laughter and humor. It was this type of interplay that promoted the "Whack 'Em" reprise which gives you a glimpse of the spirit of the entire session. You can hear that spirit, coupled with a real respect for the music and the heritage, in every song of this album." - John Burk


  1. Name
  2. Speak Softly Love
  3. Volare
  4. Fly Me to the Moon
  5. All the Way
  6. Whack 'Em
  7. Malafemmena
  8. Young at Heart
  9. O Sole Mio
  10. Evidence
  11. Goodfellas
  12. Ya See What I'm Sayin'?
  13. Whack 'Em (Reprise)/Tarantella
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide