THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CDs | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

New Release

John Scofield

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
John Scofield
John Scofield


John Scofield's first guitar-solo-recording ever gives a résumé of all the influences and idioms he has cultivated over his career in performances on guitar, accompanied by his own rhythmic pulse and chordal backing using a loop machine.

Besides jazz, John is known to have always also had a soft spot for the rock and roll and country music he grew up with, revealed here in unencumbered renditions of Buddy Holly's "Not Fade Away" and Hank Williams' "You Win Again". Between elegant and personal readings of standards, like "It Could Happen To You", the traditional "Danny Boy" and Keith Jarret's "Coral", Scofield presents his own timeless compositions - some new, others known.

For the guitarist, it's all about "the way you get the sound out of the string and what you do with it after you attack it."

John Scofield: electric guitar and looper


"Scofield is as fiery as ever, plugged in and using loops to give himself a background groove on some of his gritty originals or putting a punkish spin on romantic ballads." - **** The Times

"This isn't an album to listen to in a hurry; but if you were pressed for time, the last two tracks alone would give you a sense of Scofield's extraordinary range. The bebop-heavy Trance De Jour is antic, angular, questing. But then we close with You Win Again, a Hank Williams cover, serene as a sunset over the prairie." - **** The Daily Telegraph

"Here he has distilled his decades in this crazy business into a baker's dozen of songs that may appear modest in ambition - only one track runs to more than five minutes, several run to barely three - yet is mighty in impact...This album needed no other title. This is John Scofield." - **** Jazzwise

"(8/10) The result offers an intimate insight to Sco's skills as both guitarist and arranger. It's a late-night album - quiet, introspective and really quite beautiful, too, with Sco's musical soul laid bare before us." - Guitarist


  1. Name
  2. Coral
  3. Honest I Do
  4. It Could Happen To You
  5. Danny Boy
  6. Elder Dance
  7. Mrs. Scofield's Waltz
  8. Junco Partner
  9. There Will Never Be Another You
  10. My Old Flame
  11. Not Fade Away
  12. Since You Asked
  13. Trance De Jour
  14. You Win Again
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite