THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Berg / Hartmann - Tief in der Nacht (Lieders)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Berg / Hartmann - Tief in der Nacht (Lieders)
Berg / Hartmann - Tief in der Nacht (Lieders)


Eagerly-awaited album by uniquely gifted soprano Juliane Banse, whose previous ECM recordings have been showered with awards and positive reviews. Accompanied by the insightful Serbian pianist Aleksandar Madzar, the German singer performs a wonderful programme of music by Alban Berg and Karl Amadeus Hartmann, powerful and poetic songs spanning a turbulent era.

Alban Berg's early songs, written while he was still under Schoenberg's tutelage, chart the young composer's metamorphosis from writer of late romantic love songs to master of the modern idiom. The Berg selections here comprise 18 songs - the Sieben frühe Lieder, the Jugendlieder and two fascinatingly-contrasting versions of Schließe mir die Augen beide from 1900 and 1925.

Hartmann's cantata Lamento for soprano and piano was made in 1955 out of solo passages from a choral work of 1936/7 dedicated to Berg. A demanding work, it has rarely been recorded. In his note Paul Griffiths writes, "Lamento is a big piece, one that thoroughly engages the two formidable musicians who present it. Banse is the kind of singer Hartmann must have imagined, one who can maintain ease, power and warmth under difficult circumstances, whose singing conveys at once authority and vulnerability and whose musical experience runs from Bach to the present day. Aleksandar Madzar similarly brings out the depth of history and the immediacy of feeling written into this work."

Juliane Banse's account of Kurtág's Kafka Fragmente - a work she sings at the Wigmore Hall on 18 February - won the Edison Award, the Midem Classical Award and the Japanese Modern Music Prize, while both her recital disc with András Schiff (Songs of Debussy and Mozart) and her starring role in Heinz Holliger's opera Schneewittchen both netted Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik Bestenlist awards.

Personnel: Juliane Banse (soprano), Aleksandar Madzar (piano)


  1. Name
  2. Alban Berg: Sieben frühe Lieder (1905-1908) Nacht (Carl Hauptmann)
  3. Schilflied (Nikolaus Lenau)
  4. Die Nachtigall (Theodor Storm)
  5. Traumgekrönt (Rainer Maria Rilke)
  6. Im Zimmer (Johannes Schlaf)
  7. Liebesode (Otto Erich Hartleben)
  8. Sommertage (Paul Hohenberg)
  9. Alban Berg: Jugendlieder (1904-08) Die Näherin (Rainer Maria Rilke)
  10. Erster Verlust (Johann W. v. Goethe)
  11. ÃÅber den Bergen (Karl Busse)
  12. Winter (Johannes Schlaf)
  13. Regen (Johannes Schlaf)
  14. Traurigkeit (Peter Altenberg)
  15. Hoffnung (Peter Altenberg)
  16. Die Flötenspielerin (Peter Altenberg)
  17. Mignon (Johann W. v. Goethe)
  18. Alban Berg: Zwei Lieder - Schließe mir die Augen beide (Theodor Storm) (1900)
  19. Schließe mir die Augen beide (Theodor Storm) (1925)
  20. Karl Amadeus Hartmann: Lamento (Kantate nach Texten von Andreas Gryphius) (1955) Elend
  21. An meine Mutter
  22. Friede
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock