THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Kurtag & Ligeti: Music for Viola

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Kurtag & Ligeti: Music for Viola
Kurtag & Ligeti: Music for Viola


The great viola player Kim Kashkashian has long been one of the most outstanding protagonists of modern composition and this bold and subtle account of solo music by the great Hungarian composers György Kurtág and György Ligeti is a landmark recording. Kurtág's Signs, Games and Messages (1989- in progress) in its 19 aphoristic sections is as demanding as Ligeti's Sonata for viola (1991-94), but Kashkashian surmounts the very different challenges of the works, and points towards the qualities that unite these composers. As ever, she gets to the heart of the music, and unravels its secrets.

In his liner note, Wolfgang Sandner comments: "For twenty years Kim Kashkashian has devoted herself to Kurtág's complex oeuvre for the viola and developed a remarkable rapport for the relation between compositional fabric and sonic nuance. In the thoughtful dramaturgical sequence of this recording, and in Kashkashian's scrupulous reading, these Kurtág pieces, and the six movements of Ligeti's Viola Sonata that follows them, seem like the work of a single visionary artist - conveyed in hidden signs and coded messages."

Amongst her many notable albums for ECM New Series, Kashkashian has recorded Kurtág's Movement for viola and orchestra and also his Nine Pieces for Solo Viola, the early Jelek for viola, op 5, and the chamber work Hommage à R.Sch. This is the ninth disc on the label devoted in whole or in part to Kurtág's music.

Personnel: Kim Kashkashian (viola)


  1. Name
  2. György Kurtág: Signs, Games And Messages: In Nomine - All'ongherese (Damjanich Emlékko)
  3. Csendes sorok Dobszay Lászlónak
  4. Levél Ligeti Verának
  5. Zöld erdobol magyar nóta
  6. Vagdalkozós
  7. Virág Zsigmondy Dénesnek
  8. In memoriam Blum Tamás
  9. In memoriam Aczél György
  10. H.J. - nóta
  11. Vagdalkozós, var.
  12. The Carenza Jig
  13. Kroó György in memoriam
  14. Hommage à John Cage (Elakadó Szavak)
  15. Doloroso "Garzulyéknak"
  16. Perpetuum mobile for Ágnes Vadas
  17. Jelek I
  18. Jelek II
  19. Négy összefonódó test - Gerlóczy Sári kiállítására
  20. Panaszos nóta
  21. György Ligeti: Sonata For Viola Solo, 1. Hora Lunga (1994)
  22. 2. Loop (1991)
  23. 3. Facsar (1992)
  24. 4. Prestissimo con sordino (1994)
  25. 5. Lamento (1994)
  26. 6. Chaconne chromatique (1994)
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide