THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Schumann: The Violin Sonatas

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Schumann: The Violin Sonatas
Schumann: The Violin Sonatas


The German-Hungarian duo of two hugely accomplished young musicians gives its ECM debut with a gripping rendering of Schumann's three violin sonatas. Written in the difficult last years of the composer's life, these demanding works mirror his existential conflicts in a fascinating way. While the first two sonatas are quite frequently heard in concert, the third was held back by Clara Schumann after her husband's death and only published in a reliable edition a few years ago. These vivid interpretations, recorded in the great acoustics of Lugano radio studio are marked by an immense array of tonal hues and extraordinary ensemble qualities. Widmann: "This is music where the performers have to develop an enormous amount of imagination, since in Schumann the black dots on white paper never convey the full content of the music. Every note is different and every bar needs a new inflexion. You can do justice to this expressiveness only if you go to the limits and challenge routine wherever you can." Munich-born Carolin Widmann won several international prizes before her appointment as professor at Musikhochschule Leipzig in 2006. Increasingly in demand as a soloist, she's an outstanding interpreter of contemporary music with composers such as Wolfgang Rihm, Matthias Pintscher, Erkki-Sven Tüür and her brother Jörg Widmann writing new works for her. Her debut CD of solo works by Ysaye, Boulez, Sciarrino and Widmann won the German Record Critic's prize in 2006. She makes her BBC Proms debut this month with the BBC Symphony Orchestra. Hungarian pianist Dénes Várjon studied with legendary mentors Ferenc Rados and Gyorgy Kurtag and attended Andras Schiff's masterclasses. He's been assistant professor at the Liszt Music Academy in Budapest since 1994. A regular guest with major festivals and orchestras, he's also a dedicated chamber music player and often collaborates with Heinz Holliger and Jorg Widmann. Personnel: Carolin Widmann (violin), Denes Varjon (piano)


  1. Name
  2. Sonata No 1 in A minor, op.105 - I Mit leidenschaftlichem Ausdruck
  3. II Allegretto
  4. III Lebhaft
  5. Sonata No 3 in A minor, WoO 2 - I Ziemlich langsam
  6. II Intermezzo. Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell
  7. III Lebhaft
  8. IV Finale. Markiertes, ziemlich lebhaftes Tempo
  9. Sonata No 2 in D minor, op. 121 - I Ziemlich langsam
  10. II Sehr lebhaft
  11. III Leise, einfach
  12. IV Bewegt
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide