THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Scarlatti: Concerti Grossi, Cello Sonatas

Super Audio CD
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Super Jewel Case (SACD)
Catalog Number:
Scarlatti: Concerti Grossi, Cello Sonatas
Scarlatti: Concerti Grossi, Cello Sonatas


An outstanding performance of Alessandro Scarlatti's six Concerti Grossi by one of the leading early music ensembles on the international scene, Accademia Bizantina under its musical director Ottavio Dantone, is featured on this hybrid SACD, which has been re-mastered from an original 24bit stereo recording which was originally released on Arts in 2003. The disc also includes Scarlatti's three cello sonatas played by one of the groups regular soloists Mauro Valli. Founded in Ravenna, Italy, in 1983, the Accademia Bizantina is a group of talented musicians with diverse musical interests who came together to form a self-managed group where music could be made in an atmosphere of research and historical understanding. Over the years the ensemble has produced a string of critically acclaimed recordings for labels such as Decca, Harmonia Mundi, and Naive as well as Arts. Alessandro Scarlatti's Six Concertos in seven parts (Concerti Grossi) were published in London by Benjamin Cooke in 1740. The date of composition is unknown. The fact that they were published some fifteen years after the composer's death was quite unusual for that time, and it is possible that the publisher was cashing in on the popularity of the Scarlatti name, since Alessandro's son Domenico had been a great success on a trip to London two years earlier. Personnel: Mauro Valli (cello), Accademia Bizantina, Ottavio Dantone (conductor)


  1. Name
  2. Concerti Grossi (pub. London 1740): Concerto No.1 in F minor - f-Moll, fa mineur, fa minore, I Gra
  3. II Allegro
  4. III Largo
  5. IV Allemanda (Allegro)
  6. Concerto No.2 in C minor - c-Moll, ut mineur, do minore, I Allegro
  7. II Grave
  8. III Minuetto
  9. Concerto No.3 in F major - F-Dur, Fa majeur, Fa maggiore, I Allegro
  10. II Largo
  11. III Allegro
  12. IV Largo
  13. V Allegro
  14. Concerto No.4 in G minor - g-Moll, sol mineur, sol minore, I Allegro ma non troppo
  15. II Grave
  16. III Vivace
  17. Concerto No.5 in D minor - d-Moll, si mineur, si minore, I Allegro
  18. II Grave
  19. III Giga: Allegro
  20. IV Minuetto
  21. Concerto No.6 in Emajor - E-Dur, mi majeur, mi maggiore, I Allegro
  22. II Allegro
  23. III Largo
  24. IV Affettuoso
  25. Sonatas for cello and Continuo: Cello Sonata No.1 in D minor - d-Moll, si mineur, si minore, I Lar
  26. II Allegro
  27. III Largo
  28. IV A tempo giusto
  29. Cello Sonata No.2 in C minor - c-Moll, ut mineur, do minore, I Largo
  30. II Allegro
  31. III Piano
  32. IV Presto
  33. Cello Sonata No.3 in C major - C-Dur, ut majeur, do maggiore, I Largo
  34. II Allegro
  35. III Amoroso
  36. IV Presto
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide