THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets


Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:


Limited edition special six-panel digipak with booklet. During the early years of his career, pianist Oscar Peterson recorded as an accompanist for many stars, but also as a leader. While most of his sessions were with his trio, Tenderly (Verve MGV-2046/Clef MGC-696) showcases him in piano-bass duets with Ray Brown and Major Holley. Although he had been recorded by Granz playing at Carnegie Hall on September 18, 1949 (the three tunes were eventually released), the March 1950 date with Ray Brown marks the pianist's first American studio recording. Peterson's original composition the first tune recorded at that session was appropriately titled "Debut". The complete album Keyboard: Music by Oscar Peterson (Verve MV-2666/Clef MGC-697), which was recorded during the same sessions, has been added as a bonus. OSCAR PETERSON, piano on all tracks, plus: On 1-8 & 21-24: RAY BROWN, bass New York, March-August 1950. 1-12: Originally issued as Tenderly *BONUS ALBUM (13-24): Keyboard: Music by Oscar Peterson. All original sessions produced by Norman Granz. On 9-20: MAJOR HOLLEY, bass New York, May 8, 1950.


  1. Name
  2. Debut
  3. They Didn' Believe Me
  4. Lover Come Back To Me
  5. Where Or When
  6. Three O'clock In The Morning
  7. All The Things You Are
  8. Tenderly
  9. Oscar's Blues
  10. Little White Lies
  11. In The Middle Of A Kiss
  12. Nameless
  13. Two Sleepy People
  14. Jumpin' With Symphony Sid*
  15. Robin's Nest*
  16. Tico Tico*
  17. Get Happy*
  18. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes*
  19. Deep Purple*
  20. Exactly Like You
  21. I'll Remember April*
  22. Easy To Love*
  23. Taking A Chance On Love*
  24. Squatty Roo*
  25. After All*
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock