THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Robert Schumann / Heinz Holliger: Aschenmusik

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Robert Schumann / Heinz Holliger: Aschenmusik
Robert Schumann / Heinz Holliger: Aschenmusik


Heinz Holliger's lifelong fascination with the music of Robert Schumann finds further expression on the album Aschenmusik, issued to celebrate the Swiss oboist-composer's 75th birthday (21 May 2014). A new interpretation of Holliger's Romancendres is framed by Schumann's own works. Strong performances by Holliger himself and by Anita Leuzinger, solo cellist from the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra, and by Austrian pianist Anton Kernjak make this recording another important addition to Heinz Holliger's ECM discography.

The title Romancendres refers to the lost "Cello Romances" of 1853 which Clara Schumann burned on Brahms's advice, an act of destruction which outraged Holliger and fuelled the composition of this "music from the ashes" in 2003. However it is not an attempt to reconstruct a lost Schumann composition, but a portrait of Schumann, packed with quotations, projected like a lifetime passing through the mind of a dying man.

Romancendres is prefaced by Schumann's "Romances" for oboe and piano, masterpieces which have been part of Holliger's repertoire for 60 years, and by the rarely-played "Studies in Canon Form" which find Holliger on the oboe d'amore. The album closes with Schumann's Sonata No 1 for violin and piano, with cello substituting for violin. Holliger notes: "Schumann himself thought it could also be played on a cello. I find it grandiose with this combination of instruments."

Personnel: Heinz Holliger (oboe, oboe d'amore), Anita Leuzinger (cello), Anton Kernjak (piano)


  1. Name
  2. Robert Schumann: Sechs Stücke in kanonischer Form, op.56, Nicht zu schnell
  3. Mit innigem Ausdruck
  4. Andantino
  5. Innig
  6. Nicht zu schnell
  7. Adagio
  8. Drei Romanzen für Oboe und Klavier, op.94, Nicht schnell
  9. Einfach, innig
  10. Nicht schnell
  11. Heinz Holliger: Romancendres für Violoncello und Klavier, Kondukt I (C.S.- R.S.)
  12. I. Aurora (Nachts)
  13. II. R(asche)S Flügelschlagen
  14. III. "Der Würgengel der Gegenwart"
  15. IV. "heiter bewegt" ("Es wehet ein Schatten darin")
  16. Kondukt II ("Der bleiche Engel der Zukunft")
  17. Robert Schumann: III. Intermezzo. Bewegt doch nicht zu schnell (aus: FAE Sonate Nr. 3 in a-Moll, WoO2)
  18. Sonate Nr. 1 für Pianoforte und Violine in a-Moll, op.105, I. Mit leidenschaftlichem Ausdruck
  19. II. Allegretto
  20. III.Lebhaft
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock