THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Franz Schubert: Sonatas, Impromptus, Moments Musicaux

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Franz Schubert: Sonatas, Impromptus, Moments Musicaux
Franz Schubert: Sonatas, Impromptus, Moments Musicaux


Sir András Schiff's reputation as one of the great interpreters of the work of Franz Schubert is long-established and he has always maintained that Schubert's music is amongst the most moving ever written. Schiff underlined the point on his ECM New Series album with the C Major fantasies at the end of the 1990s, and he does so again on this remarkable recording.

Two Schubert Sonatas (D894 & D960), the six Moments musicaux, Four Impromptus (D 935), the 'Hungarian Melody' and an Allegretto are addressed on a period instrument, the fortepiano.

The pianist says: "My fortepiano was built by Franz Brodmann in Vienna in 1820. It is to me ideally suited to Schubert's keyboard works. There is something quintessentially Viennese in its timbre, its tender mellowness, its melancholic cantabilità...It is in the quiet and quietest moments when Schubert - like nobody else - touches our hearts."

Elsewhere in an absorbing booklet essay, Schiff notes: "Finding the right venue is essential. The room must not be too large, its acoustics, proportions, resonances and atmosphere should be ideally attuned to the needs of the fortepiano. Such a hall is the Kemmermusiksaal H.J. Abs of the Beethoven-Haus in Bonn." It was there that these memorable recordings were made in July 2014.

Personnel: András Schiff (fortepiano)


  1. Name
  2. Ungarische Melodie in B minor D 817
  3. Sonata in G major D 894 (op.78), Molto moderato e cantabile
  4. Andante
  5. Menuett. Allegro moderato - Trio
  6. Allegretto
  7. Six Moments musicaux D 780 (op.94), Moderato in C major
  8. Andantino in A flat major
  9. Allegro moderato in F minor
  10. Moderato in C sharp minor
  11. Allegro vivace in F minor
  12. Allegretto in A flat major
  13. Allegretto in C minor D 915
  14. Four Impromptus D 935 (op.142), Allegro moderato in F minor
  15. Allegretto in A flat major
  16. Andante in B flat major
  17. Allegro scherzando in F minor
  18. Sonata in B flat major D 960, Molto moderato
  19. Andante sostenuto
  20. Scherzo. Allegro vivace con delicatezza - Trio
  21. Allegro ma non troppo - Presto
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock