THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Arvo Part: The Deer's Cry

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Arvo Part: The Deer's Cry
Arvo Part: The Deer's Cry


The second ECM New Series album to fully showcase Estonian vocal group Vox Clamantis is devoted to compositions by their great countryman, Arvo Pärt whose music has been the most performed globally of any living composer over the past five years from his 75th birthday leading up to his 80th last September. This album titled The Deer's Cry after its opening track, an incantatory work for a cappella mixed choir is also the latest in a long, illustrious line of ECM New Series releases to feature Pärt's compositions, the very music that inspired Manfred Eicher to establish the New Series imprint in 1984. Along with such classic works as Da Pacem Domine the new album includes first-time recordings of the a cappella pieces Drei Hirtenkinder aus Fátima and Habitare Fratres. There is also an a cappella version of Alleluia-Tropus, which Vox Clamantis previously recorded alongside instruments for the Grammy Award-winning ECM New Series album 'Adam's Lament'. Rarely recorded material makes up nearly half of this release, which includes three pieces with subtle instrumental accompaniment: Von Angesicht zu Angesicht, Sei gelobt, du Baum, and Veni Creator. Personnel: Vox Clamantis, Jaan-Eik Tulve (conductor); Mari Poll (violin); Johanna Vahermägi (viola); Heikko Remmel, Taavo Remmel (double basses); Robert Staak (lute); Toomas Vavilov (clarinet); Susanne Doll (organ)


  1. Name
  2. The Deers Cry
  3. Von Angesicht zu Angesicht
  4. Alleluia-Tropus
  5. Virgencita
  6. Veni Creator
  7. Drei Hirtenkinder aus Fátima
  8. And One of the Pharisees
  9. Da pacem Domine
  10. Most Holy Mother of God
  11. Sei gelobt, du Baum
  12. Habitare fratres in unum
  13. Summa
  14. Gebet nach dem Kanon (from Kanon Pokjanen)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock