THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

J S Bach: Suiten Fur Violoncello

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
J S Bach: Suiten Fur Violoncello
J S Bach: Suiten Fur Violoncello


Swiss cellist Thomas Demenga returns to Bach's suites. "To me, Bach is the greatest musical genius who has ever lived. His music is pure, sublime. It possesses something divine and each musician has a lifetime in which to discover new ways of interpreting it." Demenga previously recorded the cello suites for ECM between 1986 and 2002, juxtaposing them with contemporary composition in albums that count as milestones in the early history of the New Series. This new double CD however is devoted entirely to Bach and the six suites. Many years of playing and studying every aspect of them, from source manuscripts to different tempos, embellishments, fingerings and bowings, have brought Demenga to the heart of the music which Bach himself described as the only goal. This new account of the music was recorded at the Hans Huber Saal in Basel. Simultaneously with the 2-CD set, ECM is issuing a 180g vinyl album Préludes et Sarabandes (4815766) with selected movements from the suites.


  1. Name
  2. Suite I G-Dur BWV 1007: Prelude
  3. Allemande
  4. Courante
  5. Sarabande
  6. Menuet I&II
  7. Gigue
  8. Suite II d-Moll BWV 1008: Prelude
  9. Allemande
  10. Courante
  11. Sarabande
  12. Menuet I&II
  13. Gigue
  14. Suite III C-Dur BWV 1009: Prelude
  15. Allemande
  16. Courante
  17. Sarabande
  18. Bourree I&II
  19. Gigue
  20. Suite IV Es-Dur BWV 1010: Prelude
  21. Allemande
  22. Courante
  23. Sarabande
  24. Bourree I&II
  25. Gigue
  26. Suite V C-Moll BWV 1011: Prelude
  27. Allemande
  28. Courante
  29. Sarabande
  30. Gavotte I&II
  31. Gigue
  32. Suite VI D-Dur BWV 1012: Prelude
  33. Allemande
  34. Courante
  35. Sarabande
  36. Gavotte I&II
  37. Gigue
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock