THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Mieczyslaw Weinberg: Chamber Symphonies & Piano Quintet

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Mieczyslaw Weinberg: Chamber Symphonies & Piano Quintet
Mieczyslaw Weinberg: Chamber Symphonies & Piano Quintet


This double album includes all four of the chamber symphonies written in the last decade of Polish-born Soviet composer Mieczyslaw Weinbergs life, plus a beautiful new arrangement by Gidon Kremer and Kremerata Baltica percussionist Andrey Pushkarev of the early Piano Quintet of 1944, heard here in a premiere recording. It is a recording which underlines the importance and originality of Weinbergs music. For Gidon Kremer, Weinberg has become a source of unlimited inspiration. No other composer has entered my own and Kremerata Balticas repertoire and programme concepts with such intensity. Weinbergs chamber symphonies are Kremer says, the most personal reflections of a great composer on his own life and his generation, like a diary of the most dramatic period of the 20th century. This new recording the second Kremerata Baltica album dedicated to Weinberg is, Kremer feels, the most valuable landmark in the orchestras discography since its birth. Recorded in Vienna and in Riga in June 2015, it marks the conducting debut on ECM of the CBSO's new music director Mirga Grainyte-Tyla. The set is released in time for a major tour celebrating both Kremerata Balticas 20th anniversary and leader Gidon Kremers 70th birthday. The CD booklet includes liner notes by Weinberg biographer David Fanning, as well as a personal recollection of the composer by Alexander Raskatov. Personnel: Kremerata Baltica, Gidon Kremer (violin/director), Yulianna Avdeeva (piano), Mate Bekavec (clarinet), Mirga Grainyte-Tyla (conductor)


  1. Name
  2. Chamber Symphony No.3 op.151 for string orchestra - Lento
  3. Chamber Symphony No.3 - Allegro molto
  4. Chamber Symphony No.3 - Adagio
  5. Chamber Symphony No.3 - Andantino
  6. Chamber Symphony No.2 op.147 - Allegro molto
  7. Chamber Symphony No.2 - Pesante moderato
  8. Chamber Symphony No.2 - Andante sostenuto
  9. Chamber Symphony No.1 op.145 - Allegro
  10. Chamber Symphony No.1 - Andante
  11. Chamber Symphony No.1 - Allegretto
  12. Chamber Symphony No.1 - Presto
  13. Piano Quintet op.18 arr for piano, strings & percussion - Moderato con moto
  14. Piano Quintet - Allegretto
  15. Piano Quintet - Presto
  16. Piano Quintet - Largo
  17. Piano Quintet - Allegro agitato
  18. Chamber Symphony No.4 op.153 - Lento
  19. Chamber Symphony No.4 - Allegro molto Moderato
  20. Chamber Symphony No.4 - Adagio Meno messo
  21. Chamber Symphony No.4 - Andantino Adagissimo
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock