THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Hieroglyphen Der Nacht

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Hieroglyphen Der Nacht
Hieroglyphen Der Nacht


Released in time for the great Ukrainian composer's 80th birthday (on 30 September), the album 'Hieroglyphen der Nacht' features Valentin Silvestrov's music for solo violoncello and for two cellos. German cellist Anja Lechner has had a long association with Silvestrov, first documented on the Grammy-nominated 'leggiero, pesante' in 2001. Here she plays, alone, Augenblicke der Stille und Traurigkeit (of which she is the dedicatee), Lacrimosa, Walzer der Alpengöckchen, and Elegie (which calls for her to play both cello and tamtams). Lechner is joined by French cellist Agnès Vesterman, a frequent duo partner, to play Drei Stücke (dedicated to both musicians), 8.VI. 1810zum Geburtstag R.A. Schumann, Zwei Serenaden, and 25.X.1893zum Andenken an P.I. Tschaikowskij. As so often with Silvestrov, the compositions often take the form of metaphorical conversations with composers of the past and the present. Tchaikovsky and Schumann are amongst the composers referenced here, while Lacrimosa is a reaction to music of his friend Tigran Mansurian. "My own music is a response to and an echo of what already exists," says Silvestrov, viewing his oeuvre as a series of "codas" to music history. Hieroglyphen der Nacht was recorded at Lugano's Auditorio Stelio Molo RSI, and produced by Manfred Eicher. Personnel: Anja Lechner (cello, tamtam); Agnès Vesterman (cello)


  1. Name
  2. Valentin Silvestrov - Drei Stücke: Hieroglyphen der Nacht
  3. Drei Stücke: Nachhall eines Walzers
  4. Drei Stücke: Nachhall einer Sarabande
  5. Silvestrov - Elegie: I
  6. Elegie: II
  7. Elegie: III
  8. Silvestrov - 8.VI.1810 ... Zum Geburtstag R.A.Schumann: Elegie
  9. 8.VI.1810 ... Zum Geburtstag R.A.Schumann: Serenade
  10. 8.VI.1810 ... zum Geburtstag R.A.Schumann: Menuett
  11. Silvestrov: Augenblicke Der Stille Und Traurigkeit
  12. Silvestrov - Serenaden: Abendserenade
  13. Serenaden: Augenblicke Einer Serenade
  14. Silvestrov - Lacrimosa
  15. Silvestrov - 25.X.1893 ... Zum Andenken An P.I.Tschaikowskij: Praeludium "Geburt Der Melodie
  16. 25.X.1893 ... zum Andenken an P.I.Tschaikowskij: Wiegenlied
  17. 25.X.1893 ... zum Andenken an P.I.Tschaikowskij: Serenade
  18. Silvestrov - Walzer der Alpenglöckchen
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock