THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Prism II: Bach, Schnittke, Beethoven

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Prism II: Bach, Schnittke, Beethoven
Prism II: Bach, Schnittke, Beethoven


The Danish String Quartet's Grammy-nominated Prism project links Bach fugues, late Beethoven quartets and works by modern masters continues with volume two of the series. Bach's Fugue in B flat minor from the Well-Tempered Clavier (in the arrangement by Viennese composer Emanuel Aloys Förster) is brought together with Beethoven's String Quartet Op. 130 and Alfred Schnittke's String Quartet No.3 (composed in 1983).

As the quartet explains, "A beam of music is split through Beethoven's prism. The important thing to us is that these connections be experienced widely. We hope the listener will join us in the wonder of thee beams of music that travel all the way from Bach through Beethoven to our own times."

Recorded in historic Reitstadel Neumarkt and produced by Manfred Eicher, the album is issued as the Danish String Quartet embarks on a tour with dates on both sides of the Atlantic, climaxing with a run of Prism concerts on the West Coast of the U.S. The Quartet plays the full Prism cycle at La Jolla Music Society over five concerts in late November.

Danish String Quartet: Rune Tonsgaard Sørensen (violin); Frederik Øland (violin); Asbjørn Nørgaard (viola); Fredrik Schøyen Sjölin (violoncello)


  1. Name
  2. Bach: Fugue In B Flat Minor Bwv 869 (From The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I / Arr. Emanuel Aloys Förster)
  3. Schnittke: String Quartet No.3 - I Andante
  4. II Agitato
  5. III Pesante
  6. Beethoven: String Quartet Op.130 - I Adagio Ma Non Troppo
  7. II Presto
  8. III Poco Scherzoso. Andante Con Moto Ma Non Troppo
  9. Iv Alla Danza Tedesca. Allegro Assai
  10. V Cavatina. Adagio Molo Espressivo
  11. Vi Ouverture. Allgro - Fuga (Grosse Fuge Op.131)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock