THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Prism III - Beethoven, Bartok, Bach

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Prism III - Beethoven, Bartok, Bach
Prism III - Beethoven, Bartok, Bach


The third volume of the Danish String Quartet's ongoing Prism series, which shows how the radiance of Bach's fugues is refracted through Beethoven's quartets to illuminate the work of later composers.

"Beethoven had taken a fundamentally linear development from Bach," the Danes note, "and exploded everything into myriads of different colours, directions and opportunities much in the same way as a prism splits a beam of light."

Here the quartet follow the beam from Johann Sebastian Bach's Fugue in c-sharp minor through Ludwig van Beethoven's String Quartet no.14 to Bela Bartok's String Quartet No.1.

"The Danish String Quartet's Prism series is building into an exceptionally rewarding venture........a stimulating and compelling disc." BBC Music Magazine ****

"A revelatory connected soundscape in which Beethoven's introspection feels more unsettling than usual." - BBC Music Magazine on Prism II "It's natural music-making....." - Gramophone Magazine on Prism II


  1. Name
  2. Beethoven: String Quartet No. 14 In C-Sharp Minor, Op. 131 I. Adagio Ma Non Troppo E Molto
  3. II. Allegro Molto Vivace
  4. III. Allegro Moderato - Adagio
  5. IV. Andante Ma Non Troppo E Molto
  6. V. Presto
  7. VI. Adagio Quasi Un Poco Andante
  8. VII. Allegro
  9. Bartok: String Quartet No 1, Op. 7 SZ. 40 I. Lento
  10. II. Allegretto
  11. III. Introduzione. Allegro
  12. IV. Allegro Vivace
  13. JS Bach: Arr. Emanuel Aloys Forster - The Well Tempered Clavier, Book 1
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock