THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Nuit Blanche

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Nuit Blanche
Nuit Blanche


Whether playing improvised chamber music, modern composition or baroque music, the creative originality of the Tarkovsky Quartet shines through. Ingmar Bergman once said of Andrey Tarkovsky, "He moves with such naturalness in the room of dreams," and the French-German quartet named after the great Russian filmmaker has developed an associative dream-language of its own. For leader and pianist François Couturier the "silence and slowness of Tarkovsky" are closely related to an "ECM aesthetic" further developed on the group's third album Nuit blanche, produced by Manfred Eicher in Lugano in April 2016. Here pieces variously composed by François Couturier, or created in the moment by Couturier, cellist Anja Lecher, saxophonist Jean-Marc Larché and accordionist Jean-Louis Matinier, explore the texture of dreams and memory and continue to make oblique reference to Tarkovsky. Couturier's Dakus, for instance, acknowledges a debt to Toru Takemitsu's 1987 composition Nostalghia, written in memory of the director. The quartet also incorporates a crepuscular interpretation of Vivaldi's "Cum dederit delectis suis somnum" from the Nisi Dominus, alluding to a composer Tarkovsky was listening to at the time of Stalker. Personnel: François Couturier (piano), Anja Lechner (violoncello), Jean-Marc Larché (soprano saxophone), Jean-Louis Matinier (accordion)


  1. Name
  2. Reve I
  3. Nuit blanche
  4. Reve II
  5. Soleil sous la pluie
  6. Dream III
  7. Fantasia
  8. Dream IV
  9. Urga
  10. Daydream
  11. Cum dederit delectis suis somnum
  12. Nightdream
  13. Vertigo
  14. Traum V
  15. Traum VI
  16. Dakus
  17. Quant ein congneu a ma pensee
  18. Reve étrange
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide