THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Asian Fields Variations

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Asian Fields Variations
Asian Fields Variations


Asian Fields Variations marks the first time that clarinettist Louis Sclavis, violinist Dominique Pifarély and cellist Vincent Courtois, long-time colleagues, have recorded as a trio. Sclavis summoned the project into existence, but this is a democratic group of creative equals: "I proposed that we make a real collective, and each of us composes for the programme." All three are major figures in contemporary French creative music: this is a new group with a lot of history. Sclavis and Pifarély have played together in diverse contexts for 35 years, Sclavis and Courtois for 20 years, but they retain the capacity to surprise each other - and their listeners - as improvisers. Alertness and freshness are key qualities here. "We're always drawing also on a lot of different playing experiences. And those experiences are reflected in what we write, and what we play. We're continually bringing new things to the project, and we keep going deeper." The album was recorded at Studios La Buissonne in Pernes-les-Fontaines in September 2016, with Manfred Eicher as producer. Personnel: Louis Sclavis (clarinets), Dominique Pifarély (violin), Vincent Courtois (cello)


  1. Name
  2. Mont Myon
  3. Done And Done
  4. Pensée Furtive
  5. Figure Absente
  6. Asian Fields
  7. Digression
  8. Fifteen Weeks
  9. Les Nuits
  10. Cèdre
  11. Sous Le Masque
  12. La Carrière
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock