THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Live In Tokyo '91

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Live In Tokyo '91
Live In Tokyo '91


Elemental Music A COMPLETE NEVER BEFORE HEARD QUARTET PERFORMANCE BY THE GREAT FRENCH SAXOPHONIST IN PRISTINE SOUND QUALITY!! ALL TRACKS PREVIOUSLY UNISSUED. BARNEY WILEN - TENOR & SOPRANO SAX, OLIVIER HUTMAN - PIANO & ELECTRIC PIANO, GILLES NATUREL - BASS, PETER GRITZ - DRUMS. RECORDED LIVE AT THE KEYSTONE KORNER, TOKYO, JAPAN, FEBRUARY 11, 1991. Born in Nice, Barney Wilens (1937-1996) career was boosted in 1957 when he worked with Miles Davis on the soundtrack Ascenseur pour léchafaud. In 1959, Wilen wrote his two soundtracks Un témoin dans la ville and Jazz sur scène with Kenny Clarke. He also wrote a soundtrack for Roger Vadims film Les liaisons dangereuses two years later, working with Thelonious Monk. Wilen toured in Japan for the first time in 1990 and returned the following year when this concert was taped. He died of cancer in Paris at the age of 59. INCLUDES 20-PAGE BOOKLET CONTAINING PREVIOUSLY UNPUBLISHED COLOR PHOTOS FROM THE ACTUAL CONCERT, AS WELL AS SPECIAL ANNOTATIONS BY BRUNO PFEIFFER, PATRICK WILEN, GILLES NATUREL & OLIVIER HUTMAN


  1. Name
  2. Introduction
  3. Beautiful Love
  4. L'ame Des Poetes
  5. Mon Blouson (c'est Ma Maison)
  6. Que Reste-t-il De Nos Amours?
  7. Besame Mucho
  8. How Deep Is The Ocean?
  9. Little Lu
  10. Old Folks
  11. Latin Alley
  12. Bass Blues
  13. No Problem (from 'liaison Dangereuses)
  14. Goodbye
  15. Doxy (encore)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock