THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

A Suite Of Poems

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
A Suite Of Poems
A Suite Of Poems


Settings of poetry and other literary texts form a special category in the discography of Norwegian pianist-composer Ketil Bjørnstad's and A Suite of Poems, recorded at Oslo's Rainbow Studio in June 2016, is a song cycle to put alongside such projects as A Passion for John Donne, Sunrise, and The Light.

Norwegian-Danish author Lars Saabye Christensen is one of Scandinavia's most widely-praised contemporary writers. For many years now, in the course of his travels around the globe, Christensen has been sending "hotel poems" to Ketil Bjørnstad, a friend from their teenage years, inviting him to make music out of them. "I started writing music to his poems more than 20 years ago," says Ketil in his liner note for this album. "His ability to expose the inner conflicts we all bring with us in our suitcases is striking."

Christensen literary postcards explore a range of moods. Bjørnstad, who is also a writer himself, says: "I feel very connected to the lonely, existential perspective of these poems, made in different hotel rooms." For this recording, Ketil worked closely with singer and actress Anneli Drecker, former lead vocalist of pop group Bel Canto.

Personnel: Ketil Bjornstad (piano), Anneli Drecker (voice).


  1. Name
  2. Mayflower, New York
  3. Duxton, Melbourne
  4. Kempinski, Berlin
  5. LHotel, Paris
  6. Palace, Copenhagen
  7. Astor Crowne, New Orleans
  8. The Grand, Krakow
  9. Palazzo Londra, Venice
  10. Vier Jahreszeiten, Hamburg
  11. Savoy, Lisbon
  12. Mayday Inn, Hong Kong
  13. Lutetia, Paris
  14. Schloss Elmau
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite