THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Open Land: Meeting John Abercrombie

Digital Versatile Disc (Video)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Open Land: Meeting John Abercrombie
Open Land: Meeting John Abercrombie


Directed by Arno Oehri and Oliver Primus, Open Land: Meeting John Abercrombie is an intimate portrait of a great guitarist, filmed near the end of his musical journey.

Here we see John Abercrombie gigging with Gary Versace and Adam Nussbaum in Lichtenstein, jamming with Rob Sheps, Eliot Zigmund and David Kingsnorth in New York, teaching music students at Purchase College, talking guitars with NYC luthier Rob McCurdy, and hanging out at home with wife Lisa and Al the cat.

Along the way John reflects, with characteristic good humour, on a creative life lived outside the mainstream and traces his story from his first encounter with an electric guitar onwards. Subtly combining and contrasting images and sound, director Arno Oehri achieves a fine balance between music passages and interviews.

The film's soundtrack includes, in addition to the live performances, selections from many of John Abercrombie's ECM recordings. These include music from the albums Wait Till You See Her, Within A Song, 39 Steps, Current Events, Class Trip and Timeless.


  1. Name
  2. Sad Song - NYC
  3. First Guitars
  4. New McCurdy Guitar
  5. Childhood
  6. Within A Song - Greenwich
  7. First Steps Into Jazz
  8. Banshee - Flight To Europe
  9. Adam Nussbaum - Gary Versace
  10. Another Ralph's - Jazztage Tangente 2014
  11. Boston Years
  12. 39 Steps
  13. First Recording
  14. Work With ECM
  15. Lisa
  16. Class Trip - Home
  17. The Fire
  18. Jam Session
  19. Playing & Composing
  20. Timeless
  21. Credits
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock