THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

The Other Side

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
The Other Side
The Other Side


For the album 'The Other Side', Norwegian Tord Gustavsen opens a new chapter in his piano trio story, with faithful drummer Jarle Vespestad, and introducing his excellent new bassist Sigurd Hole.

"This is the chill-out as a state of grace, and it can go as deep as you like. Sublime," wrote the Independent on Sunday of the Gustavsen Trio's Being There, released in 2007. Over the last decade Tord has explored other ensemble forms, but on 'The Other Side' - recorded at Oslo's Rainbow Studio in January 2018 - Gustavsen is back with the format that brought him world-wide adulation when his debut album, Changing Places, was released in 2003.

Hole's approach to his instrument, drawing on folk influences as well as modern jazz, is ideally suited to Gustavsen's slowly-developing, deeply melodic pieces. The recording, produced by Manfred Eicher, is made available both on CD and vinyl, and is issued on the eve of a major tour.

Personnel: Tord Gustavsen (piano), Sigurd Hole (double bass), Jarle Vespestad (drums)


  1. Name
  2. The Tunnel
  3. Kirken, Den Er Et Gammelt Hus
  4. Re-Melt
  5. Duality
  6. Ingen Vinner Frem Til Den Evige Ro
  7. Taste And See
  8. Schlafes Bruder
  9. Jesu, Meine Freude / Jesus, Det Eneste
  10. The Other Side
  11. O Traurigkeit
  12. Left Over Lullaby No.4
  13. Curves
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock