THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Bad Lover Blues: The Complete Singles

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Bad Lover Blues: The Complete Singles
Bad Lover Blues: The Complete Singles


Deluxe 6-panel Digipak with comprehensive booklet and updated liner notes. A leading figure in the Detroit blues scene of the '50s and early '60s, Robert "Baby Boy" Warren was a marvellous electric guitarist, singer and songwriter. Though his work remains off the music radar, Warren's sense of song structure owes a strong debt to Robert Johnson and his lyrics are full of wry humour and mordant wit. From the first to the last of Baby Boy's recordings, the infectious rhythms are interjected with sharp lead guitar and resounding vocals. This remastered collector's CD release contains all of the hard-to-find 7" and 10" sides Baby Boy made for several different labels at the peak of his career (such as Excello, Gotham, Federal, Staff, Swing Time, and J-V-B, among other imprints). Warren's music and charismatic personality breathed life into Detroit's superb but often-overlooked blues scene. "Next to the early work of JOHN LEE HOOKER and a stray anthology, this is Detroit blues at its finest." Cub Koda ROBERT "BABY BOY" WARREN vocals and electric guitar, plus: Sonny Boy Williamson (harmonica), Calvin Frazier, Little George Jackson (guitar), Milt Hinton (bass), Boogie Woogie Red (piano), Curtis Foster (drums), Washboard Willie (washboard), Johnny Hooks (tenor sax), among others. Recorded in Detroit, Michigan, USA.


  1. Name
  2. My Special Friend Blues
  3. Nervy Woman Blues
  4. Lonesome Cabin Blues
  5. Dont Want No Skinny Woman
  6. Forgive Me Darling
  7. Please Dont Think Im Nosey
  8. I Got Lucky
  9. Lets Renew Our Love
  10. Taxi Driver
  11. Bad Lover Blues
  12. Sanafee
  13. Hello Stranger
  14. Chicken
  15. Baby Boys Blues
  16. Mattie Mae
  17. Santa Fe
  18. Somebody Put Bad Luck On Me
  19. Stop Breakin Down
  20. Not Welcome Any More
  21. Chuc-A-Luck
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock