THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

At Café Society (Red Coloured Vinyl) (LP)

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
At Café Society (Red Coloured Vinyl) (LP)
At Café Society (Red Coloured Vinyl) (LP)


Charlie Parker at Café Society, Limited collector's edition - 180g coloured vinyl (red) - new cover artwork and up-to-date liner notes.

Charlie Parker's engagement at Café Society took place during the last year of this famous club's existence. Two days before his stint began, on June 6, 1950, he had recorded his last studio album with Dizzy Gillespie, the celebrated Bird & Diz, which featured Thelonious Monk on piano. During these months, as Bird himself announced, he was playing with strings. However, for some reason the Café Society didn't book him with strings but with his quintet, featuring Kenny Dorham on trumpet, Al Haig on piano, Tommy Potter on bass and Roy Haynes on drums.

All of the music recorded by Bird at the club is included here, including his only known versions of "Bewitched" and "Gone with the Wind", as well as an amazing version of "Summertime", which is Parker's only reading of the tune apart from the studio recording with strings.

Personnel: Charlie Parker (alto sax) Kenny Dorham (trumpet), Al Haig, piano), Tommy Potter, bass) Roy Haynes, drums) feat. Tony Scott (clarinet)


  1. Name
  2. 52nd Street Theme
  3. Just Friends
  4. April In Paris
  5. A Night In Tunisia/Into 52nd Street Theme
  6. 52nd Street Theme
  7. Just Friends
  8. April In Paris
  9. Medley 1: Bewitched, Bothered & Bewildered/Summertime
  10. Medley 2: I Cover The Waterfront/Gone With The Wind
  11. Easy To Love/Into 52nd Street Theme
  12. Medley 3: Whats New?/Its The Talk Of The Town/Its The Talk Of The Town
  13. Moose The Mooche/Into 52nd Street Theme
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite