THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Meet You There

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Meet You There
Meet You There


Once the bad boys of folk and rock, Oysterband have grown over the past five years into the role of musical custodians and godfathers of folk. Collaborative tours with rising young stars under the banner of The Big Session; a Big Session "live" album with June Tabor, Eliza Carthy, The Handsome Family, Show Of Hands and more; and finally a Big Session festival, now in its third year, which hasn't yet failed to sell out. And there have been gongs, awards, nominations. This long, sustained preparation has enhanced MEET YOU THERE enormously, the singing - everybody's singing - is better than it's ever been. The raw rush that they used to take us out on tour with The Pogues etc has evolved into something more measured, more powerful. The album certainly delivers a fresh perspective on 'folk'. "Meet You There is the most consistent thing we've done as a grown-up band," says Ian Telfer. "It has what I like to think of as Oyster trademarks - a folk ear for a great vocal tune, strong lyrics, wry politics, and a sort of deep-down musicality that can afford to take itself fairly lightly. It's essentially acoustic, essentially folk-based I suppose. But we try to put it over with big dynamics and a sense of musical theatre." Telfer's 30 years experience really shows. Tracks: Over The Water / Here Comes The Flood / Where The World Divides / Walking Down The Road With You / Bury Me Standing / Everything Must Go / Control / The Boy's Still Running / Someone Somewhere / Just One Life / Dancing As Fast As I Can. Also available: 25th ANNIVERSAY CONCERT (DVD87111), THE BIG SESSION VOL 1 (87105), RISE ABOVE (PLANE88874), HERE I STAND (RUNMANCD101).


  1. Name
  2. Over The Water
  3. Here Comes The Flood
  4. Where The World Divides
  5. Walking Down The Road With You
  6. Bury Me Standing
  7. Everything Must Go
  8. Control
  9. The Boy's Still Running
  10. Someone Somewhere
  11. Just One Life
  12. Dancing As Fast As I Can
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite