THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

The Amazing Nina Simone (Purple Vinyl) (LP)

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
The Amazing Nina Simone (Purple Vinyl) (LP)
The Amazing Nina Simone (Purple Vinyl) (LP)


Classic LP on limited edition 180g lilac coloured vinyl with its own unique sticker.

Released in 1959, The Amazing Nina Simone was Nina Simone's first album for Colpix Records. In contrast to her debut album 'Little Girl Blue' (Bethlehem Records), which highlighted her piano playing as well as her singing, this production downplayed the piano in favour of string arrangements. The production also featured a variety of material, including jazz, gospel, and folk songs.

"There is a remarkable amount of variety on this disc, Nina Simone's second recording. She does not play much piano (just cameos on two songs) and is backed by a subtle orchestra arranged by Bob Mersey that is effective accompanying her vocals. This session finds Nina Simone's voice in top form and with a few exceptions is generally jazz-oriented." - Scott Yanow, AllMusic


  1. Name
  2. Blue Prelude
  3. Children Go Where I Send You
  4. Tomorrow (We Will Meet Once More)
  5. Stompin At The Savoy
  6. It Might As Well Be Spring
  7. Youve Been Gone Too Long
  8. I Loves You Porgy
  9. Falling In Love Again (I Cant Help It)
  10. Thats Him Over There
  11. Chilly Winds Dont Blow
  12. Theme from "The Middle Of The Night"
  13. Cant Get Out Of This Mood
  14. Solitaire
  15. Willow Weep For Me
  16. Thats All
  17. The Man With A Horn
  18. My Baby Just Cares For Me
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite