Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Valentin Silvestrov: Silent Songs

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)
Catalog Number:
Valentin Silvestrov: Silent Songs
Valentin Silvestrov: Silent Songs


Following the chamber music album 'leggiero, pesante', the orchestral 'Metamusik/Postludium', and the 'Requiem for Larissa', ECM New Series is pleased to present a most remarkable recording of Valentin Silvestrov's 'Stille Lieder', a song cycle of great importance in the development and perception of the Ukrainian composer's work, in a double album that also includes the premiere recording of his 'Four Songs after Osip Mandelstam'.

"We may feel we have always known these songs," writes Paul Griffiths in the liner notes to the 'Silent Songs', "and in a sense we have. The first hearing will not seem the first, though we will remember it for that slow shock of familiarity, how it awakens memories...Yet the songs are new - startlingly new for 1974-77, when composers in the Soviet Union were stretching boundaries...Just when composers could at last make big personal statement in public, here was one letting the past express itself, in the private dimensions of whispered song".

Recorded 1986, in Moscow

Personnel: Sergey Yakovenko (baritone), Ilya Scheps (piano), Valentin Silvestrov (piano)


  1. Name
  2. Song Can Tend The Ailing Spirit
  3. There Were Some Storms And Blizzards
  4. La Belle Dame Sans Merci
  5. O Melancholy Time
  6. Farewell, O World, O Earth
  7. What Meaning Has My Name For You?
  8. I Will Tell You With Unswerving Frankness
  9. I'm Drinking To Mary
  10. Winter Journey
  11. White, A Solitary Sail
  12. I Met You
  13. The Isle
  14. Something Tender, Blue, Unspoken
  15. Autumn Song
  16. Swamps And Marshes
  17. Winter Evening
  18. When The Cornfield, Yellowing, Stirs
  19. I Set Out On The Road Alone
  20. Mountain Summits
  21. Elegy. Verses Composed At Night, At A time Of Insomnia
  22. Choral. A Vengeful God
  23. Meditation. It's Time, My Friend, It's Time!
  24. Ode. Schubert On Water
  25. Postludium. Those Sweet Companions
  26. My Lashes Are Pricking
  27. I Don't Know When
  28. For The Thunderous Grandeur Of Ages To Come
  29. The Oaks Drink From A Cold Vessel
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite