THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Live in Europe 1959 - Complete Recordings

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Live in Europe 1959 - Complete Recordings
Live in Europe 1959 - Complete Recordings


3CD set, digitally remastered, deluxe digipak with a 20-page booklet. This release compiles all of Rollins' known recordings from the March 1959 European tour, presented here for the first time ever on a single set.

Included here are many hard-to-find performances and even a previously unissued set taped in Frankfurt. Bassist is Henry Grimes, while drummer Pete La Roca was replaced on two occasions by great American drummers who were living in Europe at the time: Joe Harris and Kenny Clarke. The long unavailable Aix-en-Provence concert with Clarke contains Rollins' last existing notes before his self-imposed exile from music. By that time the saxophonist felt frustrated, perceiving what he considered his own musical limitations, and right after this tour he would take the first - and most famous - of his musical sabbaticals. Rollins ventured to the Williamsburg Bridge to practice and didn't record again until his 1962 comeback album The Bridge. This set contains Rollins' only existing versions of "A Weaver of Dreams", "Lady Bird", "Cocktails for Two", and "Stay as Sweet as You Are".


  1. Name
  2. St. Thomas
  3. There Will Never Be Another You
  4. Stay As Sweet As You Are
  5. I've Told Every Little Star
  6. How High The Moon
  7. Oleo
  8. Paul's Pal
  9. I Remember You
  10. I Ve Told Every Little Star #2
  11. It Could Happen To You
  12. Oleo #2
  13. Will You Still Be Mine?
  14. I Ve Told Every Little Star #3
  15. I Want To Be Happy
  16. A Weaver Of Dreams
  17. It Don't Mean A Thing
  18. Cocktails For Two
  19. I Ve Told Every Little Star
  20. I Want To Be Happy
  21. Sonny Rollins Interview
  22. It Don't Mean A Thing
  23. Paul's Pal
  24. Love Letters
  25. Woody N You
  26. But Not For Me
  27. Lady Bird
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite